That’s not what I ordered… (originally published 6/3/2009)

drew olanoff
3 min readApr 15, 2020
My Tumblr was hacked a long time ago, so I grabbed an archive of this post.

That’s not what I ordered…

…Can I send it back?

That’s exactly what I wanted to say. I had about 10 really smartass things to say back. But I couldn’t. I was frozen. Speechless.

Zip back a few weeks. I had parted ways with Strands, and got the most amazing opportunity with GOGII in LA as Director of Community. Dream job.

A move to LA was imminent. But first, a trip home to Philly to visit the folks and friends on the east coast. I hadn’t gotten to see them much.

I noticed a lump on my neck. Not huge, but being that I’m in lots of pictures and perhaps may look at myself in the mirror a bit, it was noticeable. I talked to my mom about it, she’s a nurse. She suggested it could be anything. An infection, etc. etc.

On my trip home to Philly I decided to stop in to see my family Dr. Hadn’t seen him in a while, plus I wanted to get rid of whatever I had.

He ordered a CTscan and bloodwork immediately. Again, could be anything. Plus I had no symptoms, no sore throat, aches, nothing. Good stuff.

The CTscan showed a mass in my neck and chest. He passed me on to a wonderful Oncologist. He ordered a lymph node removal and biopsy.

Less than a week later, I got a diagnosis.

Hodgkins Lymphoma.

I said nothing as the Dr. told me. I was prepared for anything or nothing, but mostly the worst case scenario, since I’m a bit of a hypochondriac.

Tests were ordered to “stage” the Hodgkins. A week went by with a few tests…heart scan, lung test, PETscan, bone marrow biopsy (ow. for reals).

Stage 3, the Oncologist told me before I got my first chemo treatment yesterday. One of 12 over 6 months. Every 2 weeks.

I have Cancer.

Before I was staged, I spoke with a friend of mine about it and shared an idea I had for a site called BlameDrewsCancer. See, I am trying to stay lighthearted and optimistic that since studies show that Hodgkins Lymphoma is 90% curable…I should do SOMETHING.

I’ve been blaming my cancer for everything. Lost keys, wallet, Phillies losing. Sixers picking a bad coach. Twitter going down and/or being slow.

Surely cancer can’t withstand that type of beatdown. But why do it alone? I wanted to welcome ANYONE to blame ANYTHING on MY cancer. I’ll find a nice company or a few who will match each unique person on Twitter who blames something on my cancer using the hashtag #BlameDrewsCancer, with a dollar that will go to the American Cancer Society and Make a Wish Foundation.

My life is changed forever.

I have cancer, but cancer doesn’t have me.

I also have the best family, friends, colleagues, and co-workers any person could ever wish for.

I will win. And I will dedicate all I have in me to help others who are far worse off than I am, and I will do what I do…educate.

Cancer discussion upsets some people, makes them uncomfortable. It is nothing to run away from. Medicine is amazing these days. Technology is amazing.

I will share my experiences here on my blog.

And if my blog ever goes down….then I’m just going to #BlameDrewsCancer

--

--